Posted by: freeclimbers | June 4, 2012

I Saved A Cobra

rat-snake

It’s been almost 2 months since I last climbed a mountain (Mt. Manabu) so I’m really craving for something thrilling in my boring and stressful urban life. Last Saturday morning on our way home, me and my 2 officemates encountered a snake lying in the cement in Ayala. I first mistook it as a shoelace for it is colored brown. I stopped at had a second look and found it a live snake! It’s length was about the span from the tip of the thumb to the tip of index finger and moves so fast. It really looked like a cobra so I became careful (I don’t have any prior snake handling experience).

To keep it away from harm, I held its tail while luring its eyes with a leaf and the threw it in the grass. My officemate told me that I should’ve killed it but taking an animal’s innocent life is not my mantra.

It may have grow big and be a threat to people someday but I have no regrets for I just don’t have the right to take her life. And when it grew healthy and a real assassin one day, I will be proud to say that I became part of it.

Lesson learned? Respect life just like how you respect yours. Who knows you might be the snake someday.

I immediately searched for the snake’s identification to and turned out it was just a rat snake that is almost looks like a cobra. Still, no regret. 🙂

Photo credit: http://squamates.blogspot.com/2011/04/future-of-asian-snakes.html

Responses

  1. Kudos for sparing the rat snake! I know you’re a good soul.

    • thanks! Unfortunately, I found a dead snake that exactly looks like it two days after…


Leave a Reply

Categories

